2017 Instructors

ryan bio pic
Ryan Hall

Ryan Hall is the Communications Director for the Montana Electric Cooperatives’ Association (MECA), and the editor of Rural Montana magazine. He is serving as the headlining instructor for OSMI 2017. He has five years with the magazine, 10 years in newspapers, including seven as an editor, five years in radio ranging from on-air comedic talent to station manager, and even a stint in TV.

As communications director, he is also responsible for MECA’s website, Facebook pages and twitter feed. Additionally, he coordinates all of the press releases and media coverage at the state office and for electric cooperative across the state.

He is an eight-time national award winner as the editor and sole content provider for Rural Montana, winning in categories such as best photography, best news story, best feature story, best column and best writing of a technical subject.

He holds a degree in journalism with a broadcasting option from Penn State.

mel bio pic
Melanie Wilderman

Melanie Wilderman is the director of Oklahoma Scholastic Media and Oklahoma Scholastic Media Initiative as well as an assistant professor of journalism at Gaylord College. She has professional experience as a news reporter and magazine feature writer and teaches introduction to mass media, media writing and media design courses.

Additionally, Wilderman has written short film scripts and stage plays. The film version of her most recent short script, Uterus Chat, won best comedy short at the Austin Revolution Film Festival in 2015 and the Fly Film Festival in 2016. She is also the co-writer of Alcholidays, a comedic holiday stage play that has played in Oklahoma City in 2013, 2015 and is scheduled to run again in December 2017.

She is a Gaylord College alumna with a bachelor’s degree in journalism and a master’s degree in professional writing.


Ted Satterfield

Ted Satterfield is the editor for Oklahoma Geological Survey where he designs, edits and publishes a variety of print and digital publications for the organization. Previously he taught journalism for six years at Northwestern Oklahoma State University in Alva, Oklahoma, and was also an editor at the Great Falls Tribune in Great Falls Montana. Satterfield holds a bachelor’s degree in English from Dallas Baptist University and a master’s degree in professional writing from Gaylord College.

He has also written and directed short films and is the co-writer of the stage play Alcoholidays. His short film, The Lightening Round, won best comedy short at Bare Bones Film Festival and Austin Revolution Film Festival as well as best short script at deadCENTER Film Festival and Austin Revolution. Another of his short scripts, Visit from the Mormons, won best comedy short script at Austin Revolution. Satterfield is also an award-winning photographer and has experience in graphic design and editorial writing.

Sohana Nasrin

Sohana Nasrin is a graduate student in journalism at Gaylord College and has previously worked with business magazines in her native Bangladesh and also has experience in public relations and digital media management. She has been accepted to the University Of Maryland for their PhD program in journalism where she will be heading this fall.

She has served as the graduate assistant for Oklahoma Scholastic Media during her two years at Gaylord College.



John Gearhart

John Gearhart, CJE, is an experienced trainer, business consultant and advocate for scholastic journalism.  For a self-proclaimed life-long-learner it’s no surprise John has an MBA – but like any true yearbook nerd, his interests include photography, design, technology and anything innovative.

As a Walsworth Yearbooks representative, John spends the majority of his time working closely with yearbook staffs with the shared goal of helping them improve the quality, visibility and credibility of their publications. He uses his experience and knowledge as a Certified Journalism Educator to teach students how to research, plan and develop their theme and design, providing honest feedback and creative consulting along the way.

Jason Wallestad

Jason Wallestad is the co-founder of School Newspapers Online (SNO), a company that specializes in helping college and high school news staffs make the transition to online publishing.  SNO offers WordPress website hosting and solutions as well as mobile apps and workflow software.

Jason was formerly the adviser of the Knight Errant at Benilde-St. Margaret’s School in St. Louis Park, Minn. He was a 2013 Dow Jones News Fund Distinguished Adviser and the 2013 Minnesota Journalism Educator of the Year.

Heather Howard

Heather Howard is the current advertising manager for student media at the University of Oklahoma. Previously she worked at Norman High School as the yearbook adviser. The publication took home a variety of impressive awards during her tenure there, and she won Yearbook Adviser of the Year from the Oklahoma Scholastic Media state competition in 2013.

Howard also teaches media writing classes for Gaylord College and freshman orientation classes for University College at OU.



Phil Todd

Phil Todd is currently finishing his PhD in journalism at Gaylord College. Todd is a former assistant professor of mass communication at both East Central University and St. Gregory University.

He is also experienced in the newspaper field holding various positions in reporting, editing and pre-press production at several newspapers in Kentucky.



Kevin Curran is a Ph.D. candidate at Gaylord College.  He also holds an MBA from Arizona State and a BA from Fordham.  He has worked for radio, television, wire service and online news services as a producer, reporter, and assignment editor.

His career has taken him through New York, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, and Oklahoma City. He is also the Cactus League radio producer for the Oakland Athletics and held similar positions with the Los Angeles Kings and Los Angeles Lakers.